Contrast Essay Outline

 

The purpose of a contrast essay is to scrutinize the differences of two same subjects. A well-written contrast essay should not only be able to highlight the subjects’ differences but also bring out a meaningful justification about the matter. It should also be able to clarify unknown or misunderstood subjects, provide a brand-new understanding, and indicate that one matter is better than the other. While it can be a little frightening writing this type of essay at first, constant work and practice can be a great way of polishing your skills. Below is a guideline on how to construct an outline for a contrast essay. The guideline will be broken into different topics and also feature numerous examples from the sample provided.

Introductory

There are two distinct methods of writing a contrast essay; point to point method and the block method. In this essay am going to focus on block method, but it is recommended to use the method that best suits your paper. Just like many other essays, the first step is, to introduce the general topic. You will have to establish your desired subject; the subject should be in the same category but host enough differences. For example, in the following sample, the author decided to contrast between his drinking and sober life. After introducing your subject, you will have to develop a thesis statement. A thesis statement is a brief introduction to what is going to be covered in the essay. For example, the author of the sample clearly developed her thesis, “As a sober man, I have tried to make a difference in the society, get a job, be a responsible parent and observed my health.”

Body Paragraph one (Topic sentence).

After introducing your subject, you will have to arrange your ideas and argument one by one so as to make it easy for the reader to understand. For example, the author introduces the first topic of the essay in the first paragraph. The subject of discussion was his drinking addiction. He contrasted on how it was impossible to make a difference in the society while he was drinking and how he is coping up with the situation as a sober man.

Body Paragraph two (Topic sentence).

It is imperative to develop a seamless transition of your topics from one paragraph to another. As you proceed writing your essay it is vital to incorporate examples; examples help to provide a sound basis for your argument. As witnessed any sample the authors use different forms of examples so as to allow the reader to picture exactly what was happening.

Body paragraph three (Topic sentence).

As you move to the third section, your ideas should be connecting perfectly. The topic of the second paragraph should connect with the subject in the first paragraph, and the topic of the third paragraph should connect with the subject in the second paragraph. This can be easily seen in the sample; the author worked well with his topics.

The conclusion

After exhausting all the topics, you will have to draw a conclusion. At this point, you are expected to restate your thesis statement (paraphrased) for example, “Ever since I stopped drinking not only has my life change for the better but also I have been able to shape other people’s lives too.” Also, you will have to summarize your main points and evaluate future developments. For example, “Ever since I stopped drinking not only has my life change for the better but also I have been able to shape other people’s lives too.  My family is happy with my progress and they too are living a worry free since am always available when they need me.”

The outline should look as follows:

  1. Introduction
  2. Opening statement:  On December 27, 2015, just after Christmas holidays, I found myself in a ditch flat out drunk. My family did not have the pleasure of celebrating the holidays because they were out looking for me. After arriving home and seeing their sad and disappointed faces, I knew it was time to quit drinking. On January 2016 I checked myself into a rehab and got the help I badly needed. Since then I have worked hard to configure my life. As a sober man, I have tried to make a difference in the society, get a job, be a responsible parent and observed my health.
  3. Thesis statement: as a sober man, I have tried to make a difference in the society, get a job, be a responsible parent and observed my health
  4. Body A.

Make a difference in the society (is one thing I’ve learned to do better since I stopped drinking.)

  1. Help others lay of the bottle
  2. (Sober) ________________________
  3. (Drinking) ___________________________
  4. Take part in community volunteer programs
  5. (Sober) _________________________
  6. (Drinking) ___________________________
  7. Drinking under the influence
  8. (Sober) _________________________
  9. (Drinking) ____________________________
  10. A responsible parent
  11. Attending my children sports events
  12. (sober)______________________
  13. (Drinking) ______________________
  14. Observed my health
  15. Eating Healthy
  16. (Sober)___________________________

b.(Drinking) ___________________________

  1. Working Out
  2. (Sober)____________________________
  3. (Drinking)___________________________

III. Conclusion

Ever since I stopped drinking not only has my life change for the better but also I have been able to shape other people’s lives too.  My family is happy with my progress and they too are living a worry free since am always available when they need me.

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

